Posted by: billbirnbaum | September 23, 2010

Retirement Lifestyle: Consider Your Pre-retirement Activities

Those activities which a person enjoyed doing before retirement, they’d likely continue to enjoy once retired.  For example, during my working years, I gravitated toward activities which involved communication.  Activities such as teaching, consulting, public speaking and writing.  And these same interests, not surprisingly, have followed me into retirement.  After some degree of “floundering around” trying to identify my “retired self,” I’ve settled on writing – both a memoir and a blog, and on graciously accepting invitations to speak publicly.  And during my leisure time, I continue, as before retirement, to hike, bike, and kayak – a variety of outdoor activities. 

Clearly, I’m not unique.  I’m just one of many retired persons trying to find “my true retired self.”  If I can look to my past for clues to my ideal retirement lifestyle, so can many others. 

Many people have retired here in Central Oregon because of the accessibility to outdoor activities.  It’s no surprise therefore that many of them, in pre-retirement, enjoyed hiking, fishing and kayaking.  And now, during retirement, those same people continue to spend time enjoying those same outdoor activities. 

A friend of ours embraced photography as a hobby a decade or so prior to his retirement.  Once retired from corporate life, his pursuit of photography led him into a new career as a professional photographer.  A friend in Southern California spent much of his pre-retirement time sailing.  Once retired, he moved to a coastal town in the Pacific Northwest and he continues to sail. 

About a year ago, I visited a small coin shop and chatted for a while with older gentleman who owned and operated the store.  I asked him how long he’d been operating the shop and he told me “Since I retired six years ago.”

Then I asked him if, before retiring, he’d been a coin collector.  He said, “Yes, I started collecting coins when I was a kid.”  Clearly his “retirement business” allowed him to continue with his lifelong interest.

But here’s something I wonder about.  Something I call “old interests” – those hobbies and activities which we pursued early in our lives, but which we’ve long since abandoned.  During my teen years, I used to love fly fishing.  But during my adult life, I hardly fished at all.  I wonder now if, during retirement, I might return to fly fishing.  Partly because I live in a “fly fishing paradise,” I recently purchased a new fly fishing outfit.  Maybe I’ll return to fly fishing.  Maybe. 

You might consider the following questions:

  • What did you love doing as a kid?  As an adult?
  • What did you dislike doing as a kid?  As an adult?
  • What about your work or career did you enjoy the most?
  • What about your work or career did you dislike the most?
  • What activities did you gravitate to in your leisure time?
  • What activities might you pursue during retirement which would be in concert with your earlier interests?

Would you like to suggest any additional questions?  Please do.


Responses

  1. Well said Bill – I hope than in retirement I can do exactly what you suggest at the end of your post – get back to some of those things from my earlier life that have fallen to the wayside. I used to fish every weekend through my teen years and have not done that for far too long. But I am staking out the good trout lakes and plan on getting a line back in the water before too long. Now that I can do what I want to do, I will!

    • That’s neat…. your getting back to fishing. As I said in my post, I may do the same. In fact, jsut the other evening, I ordered the Cabela’s fly fishing catalog. Just maybe I’m tip-toeing back into fishing. We’ll see. Bill

  2. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    • Thanks so much for your kind words. I appreciate them. Bill

  3. Good post, Bill. I used to do beadwork several years ago and at one point thought about selling my vast collection. My mom told me not to. “You never know when you might have time to go back to it.” So I kept them and when we are fully retired, I’d love to have more time to create beaded pieces again.

    I’ve always been a person with many interests. I think it keeps me from ever being bored and I look forward to more time to spend on these activities.

    • Good for your Joan. It’s great that you’ve kept your beadwork collection. I think you’re rignt about many interests keeping a person from being bored. Regards, Bill

  4. Your question about what I enjoyed as a kid is a good one. I was heavily involved in music, even making it to second chair clarinet in the All New England Band two years in a row. But, I quit playing any instruments after high school.

    Earlier this year it hit me that I missed making music. So, I bought a guitar and am slowly teaching myself enough to play songs for the grandkids or at Christmas. Playing an instrument again after all these years is a real blessing and fills a void I didn’t know I had.

    • Hey, that’s so neat! I very much enjoy going to concerts and I much admire those who can make music. Good that you’ve returned to music and that you find joy in doing so. Playing music for your grandkids makes for joy and, just as important I think, you’re a very positive role model for the youngsters. Congratulations, Bill

  5. OMG this post really makes you think! Looks like i will have to read more in retirement. LOL, as a child I loved to read and visit my nana…..who BYW is alive still at 107! Looks like a trek up north to nana is in line with retirement. Anyway, great thought provoking article, Bill,

    • Hi, Paula… Thanks for your kind words. I much appreciate that. Wow! Nana at 107 years old. That’s wonderful. Best wishes to you and to her, Bill


Leave a comment

Categories